Mango Banana Blueberry Swiss Chard Smoothie

Fall is here and I’m busy cutting back bushes, prickly pear cactus and preparing the soil for next Spring’s garden. The weather is cooling, but 85 degrees in the shade still works me into a sweat and I want something cool. No sodas for me and I’m not ready for a hot meal. Yet, my body craves nutrition and this smoothie hits the spot. I grow Swiss Chard and it packs nutrition as much or even more so than spinach. Ginger gives the drink a kick, and the Stevia takes the edge off any bitter taste. Used in this recipe, you don’t taste the greens, but have a sweet taste left in your mouth!

Mango Banana Blueberry Swiss Chard Smoothie

1 cup water (add Stevia and Ginger with the water)
1 Mango, medium, cubed
1 Banana
1 cup Blueberries
1 cup Swiss Chard, leaves cleaned, torn
1/2 tsp Ginger
Stevia, to taste (a pinch will do)

Add ingredients to blender in this order. Blend on high 30 seconds to 1 minute, depending on your blender.

Serve and enjoy!

 
 

One thought on “Mango Banana Blueberry Swiss Chard Smoothie”

  1. I could live on smoothies. Except I also kind of need brownies all the time… but THIS smoothie looks good! I don’t believe I’ve ever used swiss chard in a smoothie, but I guess there’s a first time for everything. I’ll give the spinach a break.
    I wanted to drop you a quick line to let you know that I moved the hosting from Sugar Dish Me so it will not appear in your wp.com reader anymore. The address is still the same http://www.sugardishme.com/ and I’d be thrilled if you’d re-subscribe through email or rss feed. Thanks so much for reading Sugar Dish Me! And thank you for re-blogging all the political commentary. I’ve been completely off-task and reading through it for the last half hour!

Your thoughts?

