My grandmother, the last in our family born into slavery, fought for the right to vote. I honor her, my people and all Americans by exercising my right to vote. It is my civic duty. Our vote is precious, almost sacred. VOTE!

The Militant Negro™

By Jueseppi B.

 

 

 

 

 

Complaints about ballot access problems or discrimination can be made directly to the Civil Rights Division’s Voting Section in Washington at 1-800-253-3931 or (202) 307-2767.

 

 

 

GottaVote.org

 

Register To Vote 

 

Declare Yourself & Vote 

 

I Want To Vote

 

Voter Participation Center

 

Can I Vote?

 

LongDistanceVoter.org 

 

GottaRegister.com 

 

 

Steps to take with state authorities

 

 

Alert.png

If you see vote fraud taking place what steps should you take? Follow these steps immediately while still at the location.

 

 

1. Contact your local Police giving them the details.

 

 

 
2. Take pictures or record the incident with your cell phone.

 

 

 
3. Contact your County/City Elections Clerk. Poll workers/observers will have contact information inside the voting location.

 

 

 
4. Contact your Secretary of State.

View original post 37 more words

One thought on “”

  1. When I went out today I saw so many people like us lined up to vote early, it made me think no wonder Romney is trying to steal the election thru vote tampering-there’s no way he could win it fairly!

    I also felt something I’m not sure I have a word for, looking at all the different people coming together out in the street carrying signs (Romney-no millionaire left behind! lol) waiting patiently to vote(the lines stretched around the block); I felt like this is what the ideal of America REALLY means.

    I think this is why people are so passionate about President Obama-I mean his record speaks for itself, his personal accomplishments and personality are all we could hope for in a President but I think it goes beyond that.

    We see in his person (a mixed race American from an ordinary family) and his policies(inclusion for ALL-gay, straight, poor, middle class, wealthy, black, white, indigenous, asian, mexican, able or disabled etc) a future we want to be part of, at least I do.

    We don’t want to go back to 1950 with Senator McCarthy hunting “reds”, and everybody who wasn’t white enough a second class citizen.

    We see the possibilities in a world where everyone matters, where true equality of opportunity does not require equality of assimilation and monotony. A world built on love, community, laughter and beauty instead of fear and greed.

    I saw a little glimpse of that world today, partly in the street and partly in my mind and I wanted to live there all the time.

    I feel like when we re-elect President Obama we are not saying we agree with every thing he has done or been forced to do, or blamed for. We are not saying we agree with empire,the NDAA, drones or a corporate controlled world.

    We are are saying an emphatic Yes! to the vision we share with President Obama of that world. We feel like with President Obama in office we can continue to build the foundations, to raise the walls and plant the gardens of that world.

    We are not blind to reality; we don’t expect electing a single man to the presidency of a controlled government to transform our country overnight into what we know it could be. We know that building a new world takes time, and love and effort and that in four more years we will be that much closer to realizing our dreams.

    I don’t know if I can convey it in words but when you wrote about your Grandmother being born into slavery and fighting for the right to vote, it really inspired me. So many generations have worked and fought so hard, and so long to get us to this point-I have always been in awe of their strength, doing what they did, knowing how very long the road was likely to be.

    I grew up on a farm 60 some miles from the ocean and I have always loved the sea. My favorite moment as a child was always that moment when the road comes up that last ridge and suddenly the horizon is spread before you blue from end to end. It was always so magical.

    I know we are not there yet, but I feel like we are on the road just before that last ridge. Re-electing President Obama feels to me like making sure we have enough gas in the car to get all the way to the ocean.;-)

Your thoughts?

